spacer news1 spacer
9PM starting page
spacer  
spacer
  
   
spacer
spacer
spacer  
Band:   Desert Planet | CD (2005) MP3   Real Media Stream
Release:   Mario Built My Hot Rod MP3 :    Real Media Stream
Bestell-Nr.:   Broken Silence CD 4212 / 9pm 031 Infos:   Press info JPG downloadPDF download
Buy CD:   Buy now Kioski Online  other Releases:   Photos / Tour 2005  
Desert PlanetDESERT PLANET
- Mario Built My Hot Rod



In fact we don’t want to borrow the usual cliche about the odd personalities of inhabitants of the very north of Europe but apparently the endless, dreary nights of polar wastelands seems to get at least musicians into doing strange things… Two of them are the electro group Desert Planet. Since five years this amazing duo, formed by Jukka Tarkiainen and Jari Mikkola, is developing it’s very own and highly dancefloor-compatible sound. What obviously left a deep impact on them are those almost legendary 8-bit sounds of old-fashioned Amiga and Commodore-gear from the early days of electronic musicianship (think of the likes of „Space Invaders“ or „Pacman“). Desert Planet are using these sounds as a basis to create highly recognizable, marvellous electro-spacepunk anthems somewhere between Disco-Trash and 8-Bit Easy Listening. Even if you wouldn’t really expect it in this context – these guys are nothing less but damn shifty pop-songwriters. Not that surprising if one knows they’ve got three full-length releases up their sleeves… all of them with remarkable international acclaim establishing Desert Planet as a respected name in the worldwide 8-bit/micro-music community.
Their upcoming album marks a new peak in the history of Desert Planet. The compositions are playing in a smart way with the adjuncts/attributes of videogame esthetics (just look at the titles!) while still being well-balanced popmusic with a big airplay-potential. As a special highlight the album features guest-appearances of reknown Finnish pop-artists like Eläkeläiset (on “Granny Hunt”), the legendary 8-Bit computer scene musician Aleksi „Heatbeat“ Eeben ( on “Breakout Button”) and even Custom Drummer (aka. Tomi Leppänen of Aavikko, Finnland’s famous lofi-disco godfathers) contributes some bits and pieces (on “She-Creatures Of The Dry Sea”).

On top of that “Mario Built My Hot Rod” comes with an extensive multimedia-bonus section including three video-clips and a game for pc/mac. This all wrapped up in amazing packaging - a digipack with awesome cover-artwork – makes Desert Planet’s 9pm debut one of the coolest releases on 9pm Records in 2005.

last modified :
   
spacer
  spacer

spacer news1 spacer
9PM starting page
spacer  
spacer
  
   
spacer
spacer
spacer  
Band:   Desert Planet | CD (2005) MP3   Real Media Stream
Release:   Mario Built My Hot Rod MP3   Real Media Stream
Bestell-Nr.:    9pm 030 | Brokensilence 4211 Infos:   Presseinfo JPG downloadPDF download
CD kaufen:   Buy now Kioski Online  other Releases:   Moonrocks  
Desert PlanetDESERT PLANET
- Mario Built My Hot Rod


Ohne hier auf Klischees herumreiten zu wollen – es scheint aber tatsächlich so zu sein das in den tristen Einöden und endlosen Polarnächten finnisch Lapplands eine ganz eigene Spezies von Musik- schaffenden zugange ist. Zu eben dieser zählt zweifelsohne das Elektro-Projekt (oder doch Band?) Desert Planet. Seit mittlerweile fünf Jahren bastelt das Duo, bestehend aus Jukka Tarkiainen und Jari Mikkola, an seinem ganz eigenen, mächtig tanzbaren Sound. Was die beiden offensichtlich besonders fasziniert sind die mittlerweile schon geradezu legendären 8-Bit Sounds antiquierter Amiga und Commodore-Gerätschaften aus der Frühzeit elektronischen Musizierens. Mit wohligem Frösteln erinnern wir uns an die musikalischen Eindrücke die „Space Invaders“, „Pacman“ und wer sich da sonst noch so im Arcade und C 64 Universum tummelte, hinterlassen haben. Desert Planet basteln sich aus diesem Rohmaterial (mit allerdings deutlich zeitgemässerem Equipment) wunderbare Elektro-Spacepunk Hymnen mit verblüffendem Erkennungswert zwischen Disko-Trash und 8-Bit-Easy Listening. Auch wenn man das in diesem Zusammenhang nicht unbedingt vermuten würde – hier sind zwei ausgefuchste Pop-Songwriter am Werk die den Gaul von der Amiga-Seite her aufzäumen und das tun die beiden auf diesem Album in beängstigender Perfektion. Nicht ganz verwunderlich wenn man weiß das dieses skurrile Duo bereits drei full-length Alben auf dem Kerbholz hat, die mit weltweit beachtlichen Verkaufszahlen aufwarten können und Desert Planet zu einer festen Größe der internationalen 8-Bit Community mutieren liessen.
Und das obwohl man die beiden eigentlich nicht zu den Puristen der Szene rechnen kann (im Hause Desert Planet wird dann doch mit Apple gearbeitet). Das nun vorliegende Album setzt dem bisherigen Schaffen von DP eine (vorläufige) Krone auf. Die Kompositionen spielen gekonnt mit den Attributen einer Videospiel-Ästhetik (allein die Titel sind großartig) und sind doch immer fein austarierte Popmusik. Als besonderes Schmankerl dürfen die Gastauftritte der Kollegen von Eläkeläiset („Granny Hunt“), Aleksi „Heatbeat“ Eeben (legendärer 8-Bit Mucker auf „Breakout Button“) und sogar Custom Drummer (aka. Tomi Leppänen von Aavikko auf „She-Creatures Of The Dry Sea“) gewertet werden. Das sich dergestaltes Nerdtum fast zwangsläufig auch im Programmieren eigener Spiele und dem Erstellen von höchst obskuren Videos äußert kann denn eigentlich auch kaum verwundern.

Sichtbarer Beweis dafür liegt mit dem Multimedia-Bonusteil des brandneuen Albums „Mario Built My Hot Rod“ vor (im Hause 9pm Records ist man seit dem Eintreffen des Masters nur noch am spielen...), der – auch dank der herrausragenden Cover-Artwork - einen prächtigen Einblick in das Desert Planet Universum ermöglicht.

Letzte Änderung :
   
spacer
  spacer