spacer news1 spacer
9PM starting page
spacer  
spacer
  
   
spacer
spacer
spacer  
Band:   Cleaning Women | CD (2006) MP3   Real Media Stream
Release:   Aelita – The Queen Of Mars MP3   Real Media Stream
Bestell-Nr.:   Broken Silence in G/A/S / 9pm034 Infos:  JPG downloadPDF download
Buy CD:   Buy now Kioski Online  other Releases:  next release

Cleaning Women CoverCLEANING WOMEN
Aelita – The Queen Of Mars



“It’s a joke, right?“
Three guys in drag, clinking away like monkeys in heat at their home-made instruments made out of clotheshorses and pickle jars, hollering vaguely nonsensical slogans about the importance of cleaning… That’s not exactly asking for the music to be taken too seriously, right?

Wrong. Granted, you may be excused to have entertained such heretic notions, if you have not been lucky enough to have witnessed any of the Cleaning Women’s hundreds of packed club or art-house performances, where your jaw would most likely have dropped at the sight of their supreme skill and prowess. Despite the apparent flimsiness of their self-customized ‘drying racks’, their sound and teamwork are tight and sturdy in a punkjazz kinda way, and despite the undisputably avantgardian approach, the actual songs are danceable and easy to relate to, with enough nuances to transcend most genre boundaries. “Intergalactic industrial disco rock”, somebody came up with, “ambient afro-techno riff crunch”, tried another one, “really NEAT music”, most people realize – all of which are proven to be mere understatements by the ambiguously-named debut album “Pulsator”.

The power trio consists of cleaning robots (on a cleaning mission from the planet Clinus 1) codenamed CW04 (Tero Vänttinen), CW03 (Timo Kinnunen), and CW01 (Risto Puurunen), the latter of whom made the original discovery that when you place a clothes hanger on a clotheshorse it makes a rather interesting, clinking sound. After an epiphany of such earth-shattering proportions CW01 started adding contact microphones, effects and home-made electric stringed instruments to his rack – and before he knew it, he had a truly new sound at his disposal. And as the whole cleaning crew possesses enough musical vision to incorporate influences from such ridiculously wide-ranging genres as industrial, ambient, punk, ‘world musics’, techno, jazz and heavy rifforama rock, you can for once speak of a style truly of their own. What’s more, they manage to do all that without stooping to gratuitous ‘art for art’s sake’, and actually entertain pretty heterogenic crossover crowds.
No wonder, then, that the hygienic threesome have been able to spread their gospel of cleaning in some ten different countries already – even before releasing their first record.

   
spacer
  spacer

spacer news1 spacer
9PM starting page
spacer  
spacer
  
   
spacer
spacer
spacer  
Band:   Cleaning Women | CD (2006) MP3   Real Media Stream
Release:   Aelita – The Queen Of Mars MP3   Real Media Stream
Bestell-Nr.:   Broken Silence in G/A/S / 9pm034 Infos:  JPG downloadPDF download
CD kaufen:   Buy now Kioski Online  other Releases:  next release

Cleaning Women CoverCLEANING WOMEN
Aelita – The Queen Of Mars



“Das ist nicht wahr, oder?“ Drei Typen in Damenwäsche, die völlig gaga auf einem selbstgebauten Instrumen-tarium herumtoben das vorwiegend aus, mit Kontaktmikrofonen versehenen, Wäschespinnen, Gurkendosen und Waschmaschinentrommeln besteht, und dabei diffuse Slogans über die Wichtigkeit des Reinemachens krakelen... Nicht unbedingt was man unter ernstzunehmender Musik verstehen würde, richtig?

Falsch. Aber wir wollen noch mal ein Auge zudrücken sollten Sie bislang nicht das Glück gehabt haben einen der großartigen Auftritte von Cleaning Women in Finland, Dänemark, Russland, Portugal, Deutschland, Norwegen oder Schweden (wo sie in den letzten beiden Jahren permanent unterwegs waren) mit zu erleben. Neben der Tatsache das wir es hier mit fantastischen, perfekt aufeinander eingespielten Musikern zu tun haben, vereinen sich bei Cleaning Women ein erstaunliches Gefühl für Spannungsbögen, bizarre Sounds und exzellentes Songmaterial. Kaum nötig zu erwähnen das Cleaning Women aus Helsinki in Finnland kommen. Aber wollen wir vielleicht nicht zu vorschnell das landläufige Vorurteil vom spinnerten Finnen sprechen. Cleaning Women wissen recht genau was sie da treiben. Das aussergewöhnliche Trio ist, wenn man etwas tiefer geht, in der europäischen Film-Szene kein unbekannter Name. Spätestens seit ihren regelmäßigen Auftritten auf Film-Festivals in ganz Europa und ihren Live-Vertonungen von v.a. russischen Stummfilm-Klassikern wie „Panzerkreuzer Potemkin“ oder, aktuell, „Aelita – The Queen Of Mars“ .

(der erste russische SciFi-Stummfilm, 1924 von Jakov Protazanov gedreht) dürfte sich so langsam herumgesprochen haben das da im hohen Norden ein ganz heißes Eisen im Feuer liegtNach einem vielleicht etwas zu sperrigen Debüt-Album vor drei Jahren haben die drei Putzroboter vom Planeten Clinus 1 mit den klangvollen Namen CW04 (Tero Vänttinen), CW03 (Timo Kinnunen), und CW01 (Risto Puurunen), mit „Aelita“ ein tatsächlich absolut großartiges Stück Musik aufgenommen. Zwischen Industrial, Avantgarde-Pop, Hardcore, Noiserock, Weltmusik, Techno und Film-Score finden Cleaning Women mit sicherem Instinkt immer noch eine Hookline die sich erbarmungslos in die Gehörgänge frisst. Hier legt jemand ein Crossover-Konzept vor das seinesgelichen sucht und – das ist das schönste – zu keinem Zeitpunkt Langeweile aufkommen lässt. Detailverliebtheit, aufwendige Produktion und griffige Songstrukturen in perfekter Übereinstimmung.
Das Album selbst wartet denn auch noch mit einer höchst gelungenen Artwork auf und wird durch zwei – sagen wir mal – bizarre Video-Tracks ergänzt: eine Kurzfassung des Films „Aelita –The Queen Of Mars“ mit Cleaning Women’s Soundtrack, sowie ein Video-Clip der Überflieger-Nummer des Albums, „Hotel Jungle Fever“. Großer Wurf!

Weitere Informationen zu Cleaning Women unter www.cleaningwomen.com
   
spacer
  spacer