spacer news1 spacer
9PM starting page
spacer  
spacer
  
   
spacer
spacer
spacer  
Band:   Geoff Berner (Canada) | CD (2009) MP3  Artists website Real Media Stream
Release:   Klezmer Mongrels MP3  myspace Real Media Stream
label cat.:    9pm 037 Infos:  JPG downloadPDF download
Buy CD:   Buy now Kioski Online  other Releases:  next release
Geoff BernerGEOFF BERNER
- Klezmer Mongrels


It's indeed unbelievable what a massive number of tour-gigs this man has been playing over the last few years. Playing shows worldwide as solo-performer either alone or supporting artists like Billy Bragg, Balkan Beat Box or his friends of Kaizer's Orchestra from Norway or the numerous festivals he's been invited to.
We're talking about Geoff Berner, Canadian Singer/Songwriter and accordion player of jewish descent, former candidate of the Canadian green party and – most importantly – the one who's taking Klezmer music to new shores. His debut-album „We Shall Not Flag Or Fail, We Shall Go On To The End“ already being a massive load of brillant singer/songwriter material with obvious Klezmer influences Berner announced in 2005 while releasing his second album „The Whiskey Rabbi“ this being the first part of a Klezmer-trilogy played with a Klezmer trio. A good one it was (mainly about drinking) and part two of that trilogy, „The Wedding Dance Of The Widow Bride“ (2007) was possibly even better taking on the theme of marriage. Both of those releases were again great songs taking on the basic idea of Klezmer music (according to Geoff Berner) being political, dirty and passionate. Controversial stuff for probably a big part of the traditional Klezmer audience.
Berner's new relase in our opinion is his most convincing one so far. And again (possibly even more than the previous ones) it's a provocative go on the genre but never in a disrespectful way. „Klezmer Mongrels“ is in a way dealing with Klezmer-traditions in a positive way but then again it's an album one can easily see in the tradition of big Canadian songwriters like for instance Leonard Cohen. A timeless piece of great songwriting that has got everything to add new aspects to Klezmer music and make it interesting for people that probably never would buy a Klezmer record.
Berner is political and sarcastic. He can be dismissive at times but that's good in the way he does it. And – most importantly – he's got the rare talent of writing/interpreting both heartbreaking songs („One Shoe“) and singalong-hooklines being witty and critical at the same time („Half German Girlfriend“ or „The Rich Will Move To The High Grounds“). This man has got something to say and it's definitely worth listening to what he's talking about. With „Klezmer Mongrels“ Geoff Berner has finally and definitely reached what he was aiming for:

“I want to drag klezmer music kicking and screaming back into the bars. I want to make original klezmer music that’s drunk, dirty, political and passionate. As a Jew of eastern european descent, I feel I have a calling to make this music live, not just preserve it under glass like something in a museum.”

Well done, Mr. Berner!


Tracklist
1. Shut In
2. Luck In Exile
3. The Whiskey
4. Half German Girlfriend
5. King Of The Gangsters
6. No Tobacco
7. Play, Gipsy, Play
8. Authentic Klezmer Wedding Band
9. One Shoe
10. High Ground
11. Fukher




Last modifies:

   
spacer
  spacer

spacer news1 spacer
9PM starting page
spacer  
spacer
  
   
spacer
spacer
spacer  
Band:   Geoff Berner (Kanada) | CD (2009) MP3  Artists website Real Media Stream
Release:   Klezmer Mongrels MP3  myspace Real Media Stream
Bestell-Nr.:    9pm 037 Infos:    JPG downloadPDF download
CD kaufen:   Buy now Kioski Online  other Releases:     
Geoff BernerGEOFF BERNER
- Klezmer Mongrels


Es ist kaum zu glauben was dieser Mann an erstaun-lichem Background aufzu-weisen hat, wenngleich die Menge an Tour- Kilometern die er in den Jahren seit seinem Debüt-Album 2003 abgespult hat nun definitv nicht mehr zu toppen ist. Weltweit auf Achse, insbesondere als Dauer-Support seiner norwegischen Freunde Kaizer's Orchestra oder auch Billy Bragg oder Balkan Beat Box oder auf den zahllosen Festivals auf die er bislang weltweit eingeladen wurde.
Die Rede ist von Geoff Berner, jüdisch-kanadischer Singer/Songwriter und Akkordeonist aus Vancouver/Kanada, ehemaliger Kandidat der Grünen in British Columbia, der Rhinoceros Party of Canada (!?) und – das vor allem – dem aktuell kontroversesten Erneuerer von Klezmer-Musik. War bereits das Debüt „We Shall Not Flag Or Fail, We Shall Go On To The End“ eine geballte Packung brillanten Songwritertums mit Klezmer-Einflüssen kündigte Berner 2005 mit seinem Album „The Whiskey Rabbi“ an, eine Klezmer Album-Trilogie mit seinem Klezmer-Trio zu veröffentlichen. Teil zwei dieser Trilogie, „The Wedding Dance Of The Widow Bride“ (2007) widmete sich dem Thema „Hochzeit/Heiraten“ und war das erste das in Deutschland über reguläre Vertriebskanäle zu erhalten war. Jetzt endlich erscheint mit „Klezmer Mongrels“ der dritte Teil dieser Trilogie und es ist mit großem Abstand Berner's überzeugendste Veröffentlichung. Das schönste daran ist allerdings das dieses – durchaus provokante -Album ganz regulär bei 9pm Records im Vertrieb der Indigo erscheint.
Mit „Mongrel Klezmer“ hat Berner nicht nur ein zeitloses Stück großen Songwritings eingespielt sondern dürfte damit Klezmer auch Hörerschichten zugänglich machen die damit bislang nichts oder wenig am Hut hatten. Einerseits steht Berner durchaus in der Tradition großer kanadischer Songwriter (von Leonard Cohen coverte er auf seinem letzten Album bereits „Queen Victoria“) andererseits bekennt er sich offensiv zu einem musikalischen Erbe dem ein Erneuerer wie Berner nur gut tun kann. Einem Genre an dessen konservatorisch geschulter Patina schon längst mal einer hätte kratzen müssen.
Berner ist bissig. Berner ist politisch und sarkastisch. Berner ist respektlos ohne dabei verletzend zu sein. Dabei hat er die Gabe sowohl herzzerreissende Songs zu schreiben/interpretieren, die einen buchstäblich zu Tränen rühren können („One Shoe“), als auch politisch-sarkastische Singalong-Nummern aus dem Ärmel zu schütteln („Half German Girlfriend“ oder „The Rich Will Move To The High Grounds“). „Klezmer Mongrels“ eröffnet eine Zugang zu Klezmer der erfrischend einladend ist. Das hier ist soviel Klezmer wie es Punk wie es politisches Songwritertum ist. Dieses Album wird polarisieren, zweifellos, aber es wird auch Herzen öffnen.
Das beeindruckendste daran ist jedoch: mit diesem Album bringt Berner die Klezmer-Musik endgültig von den Konzertsälen auf die Strasse. Dieses Album ist schmutzig und rauh. Es ist tief-traurig und himmelhoch jauchzend, es greift Traditionen auf ohne je Puristisch zu sein. Unbedingt empfehlenswert sind neben dieser Veröffentlichung die Konzerte die Geoff Berner anlässlich des Deutschland-Release spielen wird. Der Mann ist ein begnadeter Entertainer!


Tracklist

1. Shut In
2. Luck In Exile Anspieltipp!
3. The Whiskey
4. Half German Girlfriend Anspieltipp!
5. King Of The Gangsters
6. No Tobacco
7. Play, Gipsy, Play
8. Authentic Klezmer Wedding Band
9. One Shoe Anspieltipp!
10. High Ground
11. Fukher




Letzte Änderung :
   
spacer
  spacer